Skip to content
Gerald Elias
  • Audio Clips
  • YouTube

Gerald Elias

Adjunct Professor, Violin

MM Yale School of Music
BA Yale University

Faculty Page


A former violinist with the Boston Symphony and longtime associate concertmaster of the Utah Symphony, Gerald Elias has performed on five continents as violinist, conductor, composer, and teacher. Since 2004 he has been music director of the Vivaldi by Candlelight concerts in Salt Lake City, and continues to perform with the Boston Symphony at their Tanglewood summer festival. He was first violin of the Abramyan String Quartet from 1993-2003 and has been a faculty member of the University of Utah School of Music since 1989.

An award-winning author, Gerald Elias’s Daniel Jacobus mystery series takes place in the dark corners of the classical music world and has won extensive critical praise. His debut novel, Devil’s Trill, was a 2009 Barnes & Noble “Discover: Great New Writers” selection and was recently released as a unique audio book with music performed by Elias, by Alison Larkin Presents, receiving high praise from AudioFile.

The sixth installment of the Jacobus series, Spring Break, was released in the summer of 2017 by Severn House. wrote, the mystery is “wonderfully and imaginatively conceived, written and plotted, and is a joy to read.” His short stories, provocative essays, and reviews have graced a growing number of diverse and distinguished anthologies and online journals, from Ellery Queen Magazine to Opera magazine.

A native New Yorker, Elias resides in Salt Lake City, Utah, and West Stockbridge, Massachusetts, where he continues to expand his musical and literary horizons.

For more information, visit here .

Courses Taught

  • Violin - Private Lessons
Last Updated: 3/22/23