

Request For Supervisory Committee

Instructions: Students should consult their Area Head regarding possible faculty members to serve on their Supervisory Committee. After obtaining signatures from all prospective committee members, please return this form to the Academic Coordinator. Committees will then be voted on and approved by the Graduate Studies Committee. Please see second page for Supervisory Committee guidelines and deadlines.

Name		Student ID#_	Student ID#	
E-mail address	S	Phone#	Phone#	
Degree: □MA	□MM □DMA □PhD Are	a of Specialization		
Committee Ch	air			
	Print Name	Signature	Date	
Member				
	Print Name	Signature	Date	
Member				
	Print Name	Signature	Date	
Member				
	Print Name	Signature	Date	
Member				
	Print Name	Signature	Date	
The above com committee.	mittee members have been nom	ninated to serve on the above stude	nt's supervisory	
Approved by th	ne School of Music Graduate Co			
		Date		

Supervisory Committee Guidelines

MM and MA Supervisory Committees consist of three faculty members, the majority of whom must be tenure-line faculty in the student's major department, and the chair must be a tenure-line faculty member.

DMA Supervisory Committees consist of three faculty members, the majority of whom must be tenure-line faculty in the student's major department, and the chair must be a tenure-line faculty member. One member of the Supervisory Committee must be from the area of the student's Related Field.

PhD Supervisory Committees consist of five faculty members, the majority of whom must be tenure-line faculty in the student's major department, and the chair must be a tenure-line faculty member. One member of the Supervisory Committee must be from another department.

Supervisory Committee Deadlines

Supervisory Committees must be in place before the student performs any recitals. Otherwise, deadlines are as follows:

MM (except for Music Education), MA, and DMA – During the first year of study, before the last Graduate Studies Committee meeting (usually held in April).

MM in Music Education – During the second year of study.

PhD - By the end of the second year of study.

Tenure-line Faculty

Robert Baldwin – *Instrumental Conducting*,

Strings

Josiah Boornazian – *Jazz Studies*

Hasse Borup – *Strings*

Barlow Bradford – *Choral Conducting*

Robert Breault – Voice

Kirstin Chávez – Voice

Miguel Chuaqui – Composition

Elizabeth Craft – *Musicology* Elisabet Curbelo – *Composition*

Jonathan Dillon – *Music Education*

Mark Ely – *Music Education*, *Woodwinds*

Laura Grantier - Woodwinds

Jane Hatter – *Musicology*

Seth Keeton – Voice

Ning Lu – Piano

Catherine Mayes – *Musicology*

Emily Mercado – Music Education

Jason Missal – *Instrumental Conducting*

Jessica Rudman – Composition

Mike Sammons – *Percussion*

Donn Schaefer – *Brass*

Peyden Shelton – *Brass*

Paul Sherrill – *Theory*

Viktor Valkov – Piano

Steven Vanhauwaert – Piano

Julie Wright-Costa – Voice